Tags

, ,

So you decided to create a blog.  Now what do you do with it?  First things first, you have to ask yourself, why are you writing your blog?  If it’s for yourself, do what inspires you – if it’s for an audience, do what intrigues them while trying to retain part one (be inspired).

It’s no mystery to those that know me.  I love to write, and I actually prefer to write fiction.  When I have that inspiration, I want to stop everything I’m doing and write it out as fast as I can because life moves too fast and I’m afraid I’ll forget it all.  However, blogging is entirely different.  Sometimes you have all the knowledge but can’t get inspired on how to write it all down.  Here’s where my dog comes in.

I might be writing a social media blog.  Trying to share tips, tricks, products, and all that normal jazz – but when I can’t pull it all together I know it’s time to unplug.  I’ll admit, with the ease of a smart phone, sometimes I want to jump on it while out with the kids or even walking the dog, but true inspiration comes with remembering that we’re human and regardless of where you live, there’s always something beautiful in nature.

Do you remember that scene from American Beauty with the plastic bag?  That scene caught my breath, because that’s how I feel about life.  To one person, all they might see is garbage – but in that moment, if you allow yourself, you can be taken away and enjoy the dance.

When I find that I cannot write – either for myself or for my clients, it’s time to unplug.  If possible, I’ll take the dog on the walk, and remember to just breathe in. I see the trees, the cracks in the sidewalk, and pass the old woman who works on her garden in the middle of December.  I wonder why she has toy trucks all over her yard, if she has grandchildren or if they are relics of her past.  I consider which street to walk down because there’s a fenced in dog that has probably never gotten to go much farther than that fence.  I always pity him, and wonder what would happen if he was released.  Would he be as angry as he seems on the other side, or is it all a farce because he doesn’t know anything other than protecting his property?  I like to believe that he’d be nothing but wagging tails and love, but I’ll never know I guess.

On one hand, my mind clears while I go on these walks, but on the other it fills.  It fills with curiosity and relaxation.  In a way I get my OM on (yoga speak) – but instead of focusing on relaxing the tensions away, I let my mind wander.  Once my mind is allowed to wander, that’s when the words can begin to flow again.

So if you find yourself staring at your blank screen, wondering what on earth to write – go find some inspiration.  Do what relaxes you, and brings that feeling of inner peace.  This includes if you’re writing for a client.  While you can force writing, it won’t feel authentic if it’s forced.